Keynote

Sunday, 9 July 2017
5pm – 5.45pm

Keynote: “Keep away from e-commerce?
Curse or blessing for the garden industry?”


Speaker:
Pierre Haarfeld, Partner eTribes Connect GmbH

Short description of the presentation:
Supply chains based on traditional business models can no longer simply be transferred into the digital world. These days, other factors play a decisive role in the creation of sustainable digital concepts. Given the anticyclical buying patterns of the garden furniture industry, this task poses particular challenges. Simple e-commerce models such as drop-shipping by the manufacturer are unfeasible due to the large fluctuations in volumes throughout the year. Not only that but the majority of garden furniture manufacturers produce in Asia, requiring longer ordering cycles and long-term planning. In a nutshell: models based on success factors such as price, tight delivery times and a responsive product range either do not work or are difficult to implement in the garden furniture segment.

So, what makes successful offerings such as www.garten-und-freizeit.de different? And why aren’t other online businesses managing to achieve the same critical mass? What kind of digital models lead to success in the furnishings and garden furniture industry and which models don’t work? Who is currently losing the race for online market shares and why? Can we learn from related industries?

This presentation provides a detailed insight into the status quo in the field of garden e-commerce and is thus a source of ideas and inspiration for attendees at “gardiente”. Further questions will subsequently be discussed at the get-together at “gardiente night”.

Pierre Haarfeld, Partner eTribes Connect GmbH

Pierre Haarfeld has been a partner of eTribes Connect GmbH since 2014. He is an entrepreneur, speaker, member of an advisory board and eCommerce expert with experience in the field. The Business Administration graduate (MBA, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster |Shanghai) has been working in the field of e-commerce and digital business concepts for many years. As a partner at eTribes, he heads the Home & Living Division, whilst using his profound industry experience to help companies create new business models. He also bridges the gap between the old and the new economy. Pierre Haarfeld has written many articles on strategies for digital business models in the furnishing industry.

Date:

04 – 06 September 2022

Opening Hours:

Sunday 9am to 6pm
Monday 9am to 6pm
Tuesday 9am to 5pm

Location:

Messecenter Rhein-Main
Robert-Bosch-Straße 5–7
65719 Hofheim-Wallau
Germany

Keynote

Sonntag, 9. Juli 2017 | 17:00 Uhr – 17:45 Uhr

Keynote: „Finger weg vom E-Commerce?
Fluch oder Segen für die Garten Branche?“


Referent:
Pierre Haarfeld, Partner eTribes Connect GmbH

Kurzbeschreibung des Vortrags:
Wertschöpfungsketten aus dem klassischen Geschäftsmodell lassen sich nicht mehr einfach in die digitale Welt übertragen. Andere Faktoren spielen in der heutigen Zeit eine entscheidende Rolle, um nachhaltige, digitale Konzepte aufzubauen. Für die Gartenmöbelindustrie mit ihrem antizyklischen Einkaufsverhalten bedeutet dies besondere Herausforderungen. Einfache E-Commerce Modelle wie Dropshipping durch den Hersteller versagen aufgrund der starken, unterjährigen Mengenschwankungen. Hinzu kommt, dass ein Großteil der Gartenmöbelproduzenten aus Asien liefert und somit längere Bestellzyklen eingeplant werden müssen. Kurz gesagt: Modelle, die mit den Erfolgsfaktoren Preis, Lieferzeit oder Warenangebot arbeiten, greifen im Gartenmöbel-Segment nicht oder sind nur schwer zu realisieren.

Was aber macht erfolgreiche Angebote wie www.garten-und-freizeit.de aus? Und warum schaffen anderen Online-Angebote nicht, die kritische Masse zu erreichen? Welches sind die digitalen Erfolgsmodelle in der Einrichtungs- und Gartenmöbelindustrie und welche Modelle funktionieren nicht? Wer verliert das Rennen um die Online-Marktanteile und warum? Können auch Rückschlüsse aus angrenzenden Branchen übertragen werden?

Der Vortrag soll einen detaillierten Einblick in den Status-Quo des Garten eCommerce geben und somit Impulsgeber für die Teilnehmer der „gardiente“ sein. Weiterführende Fragen können im Anschluss bei einem gemeinsamen Get-together auf der „gardiente night“ besprochen werden.

Pierre Haarfeld, Partner eTribes Connect GmbH

Pierre Haarfeld ist seit 2014 Partner der eTribes Connect GmbH. Er ist Unternehmer, Speaker, Beirat und eCommerce Experte mit operativer Erfahrung. Der studierte Betriebswirt (MBA, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster |Shanghai) beschäftigt sich seit vielen Jahren intensiv mit den Themengebieten eCommerce und digitale Unternehmenskonzepte. Er verantwortet als Partner bei eTribes den Bereich Home & Living und unterstützt mit seinen fundierten Branchenerfahrungen Unternehmen bei der Konzeption neuer Geschäftsmodelle. Im Besonderen vermittelt er zwischen der Old- und New-Economy. Pierre Haarfeld ist außerdem Autor zahlreicher Fachbeiträge zur Strategie digitaler Geschäftsmodelle in der Einrichtungsindustrie.

Messetermin:

28. – 30. Juni 2020

Öffnungszeiten:

Sonntag von 9 – 18 Uhr
Montag von 9 – 18 Uhr
Dienstag von 9 – 17 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Messecenter Rhein-Main
Robert-Bosch-Straße 5–7
65719 Hofheim-Wallau